Intro.

My name is Eloise Green and I’m an artist and aspiring art teacher living in Brooklyn, NY. I’m starting this blog largely because of a journaling assignment I have this semester for the graduate course I’m enrolled in, Diverse Classrooms in a Visual Culture. Although I’m currently a graduate student in the field of education, I completed my undergraduate degree in Black Studies as well as in Art & Art History. I love art and I hope to teach art professionally someday, but a part of my identity is deeply tied to the worldview I developed as a Black Studies major at Amherst College. For this reason, while my blog will focus primarily on issues related to art and visual culture, I will often be discussing the artwork and visual media that I encounter through the lens of critical race theory. I think it exceptionally appropriate to kick things off with this quote from Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man:

“I am invisible, understand, simply because people refuse to see me. Like the bodiless heads you see sometimes in circus sideshows, it is as though I have been surrounded by mirrors of hard, distorting glass. When they approach me they see only my surroundings, themselves or figments of their imagination, indeed, everything and anything except me.”

Welcome to Blackness In Visual Culture.

Leave a Reply

